Meet The Team

Alexandra Headshot.jpg

Alexandra Silversmith

Executive Director

Alexandra Silversmith is the Executive Director of the Alliance. Ms. Silversmith's past experience includes working with the New York City Economic
Development Corporation where her projects spanned a variety of neighborhoods including Coney Island, where she helped incorporate and form the Alliance for Coney Island and worked on Superstorm Sandy recovery efforts.


Cindy Vourderis

Events, Marketing

& Public Relations Manager

Cindy wears many hats within the organization. She is charged with overseeing our Marketing efforts, promotions and programming within the Amusement District as well as being the Public Relations Manager for the Alliance for Coney Island. With her strong organizational skills, attention to detail, creative imagination and "get the job done" attitude, she has earned a reputation for excellence. A native Brooklynite, her many years spent in Coney Island has given her a deep appreciation for the history,  and is passionate about the revitalization of the community.

Melanie Hirsch.jpg

 Melanie Hirsch

Outreach & Development Manager

As the Development and Outreach Manager, Melanie Hirsch comes to the Alliance via state government including senior positions with several elected officials and as Director of Mediation Services for the NYS Division of Housing and Community Renewal. As a lifelong resident of Brooklyn, she is excited to be part of the continuing redevelopment of Coney Island, specifically partnering with residents and community stakeholders in the commercial revitalization of Mermaid Avenue.


Matthew Morowitz

Commercial Revitalization

Program Manager

Matthew Morowitz comes to the Alliance for Coney Island from an eclectic mix of experiences in the urbanism field. In addition to holding a master's degree in urban design, he has previously worked with neighborhood-focused organizations, public art, and urban archaeology here in NYC. He is excited to bring all of his knowledge and experiences to Coney Island, as well as learn from and develop relationships with the people in this neighborhood, to help facilitate the revitalization of the community

Meet The Board


Steve Cohen


Vice President,

Brooklyn Cyclones

Alessandro Zamperla 



Luna Park in Coney Island


Bruce Miller


Senior Director of Company Operations,

Nathan's Famous


Nino Russo



Gargiulo's Restaurant


Dennis Vourderis


Deno's Wonder Wheel Amusement Park


James Fitzsimmons

Executive Director,

Coney Island USA


Samuel Moore

Executive Director,

Coney Island YMCA

cpiper headshot.jpg

Craig Piper

Interim Director
New York Aquarium


Michael Bogdan

Asset Management,


Allen Pink_edited.jpg

Allen Newman

General Manager 
Seaside Park


Chris Durosinmi

Assistant Director, Government and Community Affairs

New York Aquarium

Tracee Zamperla

Director of Corporate Social Responsibility 
Central Amusement International


Denos Vourderis

General Manager

Deno's Wonder Wheel Amusement Park

Michael Russo


Gargiulo's Restaurant


Samantha Previtera

General Manager,

Nathan's Famous

Meet The Ex-Officio Members


Hon. Antonio Reynoso

Brooklyn Borough President

Ari Kagan.jpg

Hon. Ari Kagan

Council Member, 47th District

Kimball Andrew.webp

Andrew Kimball

New York City Economic Development Corporation


Community Board 13